Write!

Assalamu’alaikum and hi!

I was reading How To Fall in Love by Cecelia Ahern. And I came across something which really got me thinking.

“My sister Brenda said I was more interested in the idea of writing a book than actually writing it, because if I really wanted to write, I just would, every day, by myself, for myself, whether it was a book or not. She said a writer felt compelled to write whether they had an idea or not, whether they had a computer or not, whether they had a pen and paper or not. Their desire wasn’t determined by a specific pen brand or colour or whether their latte had enough sugar in it or not – things that were distractions and obstacles to my creative process whenever I sat down to write. Brenda often came out with pathetic insights but I feared that for once her observation of me might be true. I wanted to write, I just didn’t know if I could and if I ever made a start I was afraid I’d discover that I couldn’t.”

It hits me hard because I have been surveying for good laptops thinking to myself that once I get my hands on the one that I am eyeing for, well then I know I will start writing. Not merely a post but a book! But I guess I have been lying to myself. It made question my own intention. Do I really really really want to write a book? I couldn’t even update this blog consistently. Which truly begs this question,

Why do I want to write?

Time for me to reflect.

 

 

Love,

The lady in green hijab

 

2 thoughts on “Write!

  1. rayyanislam says:

    “I hate writing – I love having written” (quote)

    “The worst thing you write is BETTER than the best thing you did not write” (another quote)

    Hehe.. let’s WRITE more this year, bi idznillah!

    Like

Leave a Reply

