Love

IMG_1541

I search the whole world for a love so true,
Only to have knives thrown at me,
And it cuts me right through

I searched for love in the crowds of people,
I searched for one who stays through thick and thin,
Only to return, disappointed, appalled,
As they pushed me away and told me that strength comes from within

It was not the love I wanted,
It was not the love I needed,
I want happily ever after,
But where can I find such lover?
One who could promise eternal bliss

I searched and failed,
I searched and failed,
And for a moment, I stopped searching
And started wondering..
What is love really?

Love is when your heart skips a beat
At the mention of your special One
Love is when you get all you need
Just by the presence of the One

Love is to be accepted
For your imperfections and flaws,
Love will stay ignited,
If Heavens is the place from which it flows,

I look for the kind of love that will give me life,
The kind of love I need to survive,

I kept looking in the wrong places,
Until one day, I was given love letters,
A hundred and fourteen love letters,

With my hands shaking,
I opened the letters, one by one,
Not knowing, not expecting
That perhaps this could be the One

One of the letters read,

إِنَّمَا الْمُؤْمِنُونَ الَّذِينَ إِذَا ذُكِرَ اللَّهُ وَجِلَتْ قُلُوبُهُمْ وَإِذَا تُلِيَتْ عَلَيْهِمْ آيَاتُهُ زَادَتْهُمْ إِيمَانًا  وَعَلَىٰ رَبِّهِمْ يَتَوَكَّلُونَ

[الأنفال : 2]

 

“The believers are those who, when Allah’s name is mentioned, their hearts quake, and when His verses are recited, their faith grows and who put their trust in their Lord,”

Love is when the heart skips a beat,
At the mention of the special One,

For a second, my heart stopped,
And I know that I found love, with You, ya Rabb.

Leave a Reply

